Building my resume as a 2nd year undergrad

In summary, the conversation revolved around a second year physics undergrad at UCSB seeking suggestions for getting involved in activities to improve their resume for future research/internships. They mentioned taking extra classes in computer science and machine shop, but were unsure of what opportunities were available for them over the summer, as they needed to be near Sacramento. Another participant in the conversation advised them to not downplay non-physics work experience, as employers are also looking for transferable skills such as teamwork and communication. They also suggested highlighting skills gained from university and extracurricular activities. The conversation ended with a recommendation to consider internships at Lawrence Livermore National Lab and other local companies.
Andrew774
I am a second year physics undergrad at UCSB with a decent gpa (3.65). I am wondering if anyone here has any suggestions of things I should get involved with to improve my resume for future research/internships. As of now I do not have much of anything to put on a resume, besides non-physics summer jobs. I have been taking extra classes like comp sci(python and C++) and machine shop to develop useful internship skills.
I would love to do something physics related over the summer, the only restriction is that I have to be home(near Sacramento). UC Davis would be within driving range, but as a non-Davis student I don't think my chances of getting a research spot there would be too high. I do not want to be idle all summer, but I'm not sure what I could realistically do.
Any suggestions or tips would be much appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org