Build Custom Telescope Mount: Tips & Advice

• Stargazing
  • Thread starter Physicsisfun2005
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Telescope
In summary, the speaker found an old Meade 8" F/10 SCT telescope at their observatory without a mount. They are hesitant to ask for a new one due to budget constraints. They are looking for advice on building their own mount or using the telescope as an alt-azimuth instrument. If the telescope has a computerized drive, it can track but not for astrophotography, and a wedge is needed for polar alignment. The speaker is unsure if the built-in motors still work.
Physicsisfun2005
alright...i have no experience with this...kinda weird i don't to think of it...anyways at the observatory i work at i was going though a closet and behold I find a Meade 8" F/10 SCT...it seems to be an older model b/c it just says LX on it...not even "LX200" or something like that plus it looks like it has a pre-LX200 classic control panel...anyways it doesn't have a mount/tripod...and i don't want to lobby the director to buy one b/c we run a tight budget (we are geting a new CCD camera from SBIG mmmm...mouth watering). I was wondering if anyone knows a good site for making ur own mount/tripod or if u have any tips that would be great. also will i need to get a wedge for it...since it seems a lot of the old SCT's have them?

Astronomy news on Phys.org