BS tables of properties for universal beams

In summary, the HNC student is seeking help with a question regarding determining a suitable section for a universal I section beam, which is simply supported at each end and must withstand a concentrated shear force of 240kN vertically downwards. The maximum allowable shear stress in the beam is 65MkN/m^2 and the student is looking for advice on how to use the BS tables of properties for universal beams. They have some basic knowledge but are seeking further guidance.
Gclark
Hi I am a HNC student an am having trouble with this question below...

A universal I section beam is simply supported at each end and must withstand concentrated shear force of 240kN vertically downwards.
if the maximum allowable shear stress in the beam is to be 65MkN/m^2 determine the suitable section for a beam using the BS tables of properties for universal beams.
ignore the mass of the beam.

work be greatly appreciated for any help

-Gclark

Physics news on Phys.org
According to the forum rules, you need to show some work of your own first, then we can see where you might best be helped.

I have the BS tables just need the formulas. i just have some basic knowledge and am looking for some advice.

thanks.

When you say "concentrated shear force", do you mean "concentrated force? When you say "65MkN/m^2", do you mean "65 MN/m^2" or "65 kN/m^2" ? Tell us more what you can say about this problem.

I understand your struggle with this question and I am happy to provide some guidance. First, it is important to understand the concept of shear stress and how it relates to the structural properties of a beam. Shear stress is the force per unit area that a material experiences when subjected to a force parallel to its surface. In the case of a beam, shear stress is caused by the vertical load acting on the beam and is distributed along the cross-section of the beam.