Broadband Vs. Baseband Signals

• Thread starter Newtons Apple
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Signals
In summary, a baseband network sends one signal at a time down an ethernet cable. A broadband network sends two signals at a time down an ethernet cable. A switch separates the two signals and sends them to the proper devices.
Newtons Apple
Hello everyone, a bit confused here and hoping for some clarification...

I'm studying computer science, and in most of the books I've been reading most ethernet networks are baseband networks.. 10BaseT 100baseT...100baseFX..1000baseLX etc... Meaning only 1 signal can traverse the ethernet cat cable... The reason why dial up connection interrupted phone calls, because it used up the signaling for internet connection.
Now here at school we have internet and printing done on 1 ethernet cable. My question is, how can the ethernet cable support both signals, the internet and the printing requests on 1 wire? I can send out printing requests, and surf the internet at the same time? How can I do this if our connection is based on a baseband technology? Or is it broadband and I just don't know? Like I said from my readings, they haven't discussed any broadband ethernet connections

Engineering news on Phys.org
It does peices of one followed by peices of the other in little chunks called packets. It only appears as if it sends two things at once down the same cable.

There is a whole extra level involved.