BrendanUnderstanding Topological Terms: Venn Diagrams and Examples

In summary: BrendanIn summary, the conversation discusses the use of Venn diagrams in topology and concludes that it may not be the most effective method. The definition of limit points and their relationship to open sets is also explained. The concept of interior and closure of a set in topology is discussed, with an example of how the closure of A is equal to [0,1] when A is (0,1) as a subset of the real numbers with the usual topology. The conversation also clarifies the definition of closure and provides an example of how to determine if a point is in the closure of a set.
beetle2
Hi Guy's
I am just starting out in topology and I was wondering if someone might know of a good link that may have venn diagrams of some important topological terms ie closure of A, int A, limit points etc.

regards
Brendan

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't imagine Venn diagrams as being a good way to keep those straight. They would get much too complicated. Just learn the definitions.

For A = (0,1). a limit point P of A is that P is a point such that every open set around it contains at least one point of A different from P.

So for this example 0 and 1 would be limits points of A although they are not in A, and there would be infinitley many limits points of A.

So if I take 0 which is not an element of A and an open set around it (0-e,0+e) the point 0+e is in A and is not equal to 0. hence a limit point
The same would be for 1.

Take 1 which is not an element of A and an open set around it (e-1,1+e) the point e-1 is in A and is not equal to 1.

If I have [tex]X = (- \infty,0] \cap [1,\infty +)[/tex] and [tex] A \subset X = (0,1)[/tex]

would A = (0,1) be the interior of A and the closure of A = [tex]X\bar{A}[/tex]?