Breaking Out of a Boring Career: Advancing with a Degree in Physics

In summary: You can't get certified without the degree, and you can't get the degree without completing an ABET accredited engineering program. In summary, the individual is a software engineer with a BS in computer science and 10 years of experience. They are looking for a more scientific career and have been teaching themselves physics. They are considering going back to school to get a BS in physics and are wondering what kind of jobs they could get with that degree, considering their need for a high salary. They also mention their current salary and location, and someone suggests that a BS in physics may not lead to a significant increase in salary. The individual expresses their interest in research and design, and asks what a certified engineer is. It is clarified that a
rockytriton
Hi, I'm currently working as a software engineer, I have a BS degree in computer science and I've been working in the field for about 10 years. I have a lot of experience and am quite good in most areas of software development. The problem is that I'm getting really bored with my career and want to do something more scientific. I've been teaching myself physics through a couple textbooks that I got and I'm currently loving physics and thinking about going back to school to get a BS in physics (probably at umw.edu).

My question is, what kind of jobs could I get with a BS only in physics and would it help having that and a BS in CS? The problem is that I can't really go for something entry level, I have a wife and kids and I'm the only one who works, so I would need to get a position where I could make 100k+ because I can't really afford to get paid much less than I do now. Does anyone have any advice? Should I just give up this dream because it's unrealistic and stick to my current career and just stay bored?

Physics news on Phys.org
rockytriton said: