Bose-Einstein condensates coherence

In summary, a Bose-Einstein condensate is a coherent state, but it is different from a thermal source, which is not second order coherent due to particle correlations.
Bone Rasta
Hello forum! I'm studying classical and quantum coherence and there's some bug in particular I can't solve on my own, nor I could find anywhere.
I've read that a Bose-Einstein condensate is a coherent state but it seems to me inconsistent with the definition of coherence given by Glauber. In fact, he showed that a thermal source (which follows a B-E distribution), is not second order coherent because of the correlation among particles. Am I missing something?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, you are missing something! Bose-Einstein condensates (BECs) are indeed a special type of coherent state. However, they are not the same as a thermal source, which follows a Bose-Einstein distribution. The coherence of a BEC is due to its extremely low temperature and the fact that all particles in the system occupy the same quantum state. This means that the particles in a BEC are perfectly correlated, and this is what gives rise to its second order coherence.

What is a Bose-Einstein condensate?

A Bose-Einstein condensate (BEC) is a state of matter that occurs when a gas of bosons, such as atoms, is cooled to extremely low temperatures near absolute zero. At this temperature, the atoms lose their individual identities and merge together into a single quantum state, exhibiting wave-like behavior.

What is coherence in relation to Bose-Einstein condensates?

Coherence refers to the property of a BEC where all the atoms in the condensate are in the same quantum state and behave as a single wave. This coherence allows for the BEC to exhibit unique quantum phenomena such as superfluidity and interference.

How are Bose-Einstein condensates created?