Why Doesn't Perpetuum Mobile Work? Student Seeking Answer

• Thread starter Degu
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mobile
In summary: Would the top of the tube need to be very high up? If so, it might not be possible to get the ball all the way up the tube.
Degu
I am a student at secondary school interested in physics and there is a problem I've been thinking about for two days:
I just can't find out why the following perpetuum mobile doesn't work. Suppose we let two charges Q and -Q advance towards each other in air. We exploit the work done by the attractive force then push them into an oil tank where the attractive force is lower and using some of the energy gained previously we pull them apart until they reach their initial positions and begin the cycle again.
I expect an answer of theoretical, not practical nature.
Thx
This problem really doesn't let me sleep.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Ok, I may be completely off here, but I think the problem is due to the fact that you have to do work on the oil in the tank as well.

I'm not entirely sure why oil makes the attractive force between the two charges less, but it will have something to do with the oil redistributing itself to shield the charges from each other. This redistribution requires work (which you supply as you pull the charges apart) which will (hopefully!) work out to be more than that gained by allowing the charges to come together again.

Well, I'm not sure how accurate that is, but until someone improves the explanation I hope it at least allows you to get some sleep!

Matt

Thx for your explanation I've found it very useful. But I further wait for more details.

Degu said:
I am a student at secondary school interested in physics and there is a problem I've been thinking about for two days: