Biology and Physics? Biophysics, biomimetics ?

In summary, the conversation is about a grade 12 physics student looking for potential topics for an upcoming physics project that incorporates biology, specifically zoology. The assignment is to create a display and presentation for students in grades 9-12. The student has come up with two topic ideas so far: biomimetics and animal locomotion. They are looking for suggestions to develop these topics or for additional topics related to basic physics concepts. Some suggestions include organic solar cells, quantum biology, and the physics of senses in humans and other animals. Another interesting topic related to biomimetics is the use of optics in butterfly wings to create useful devices.
Sean E.
I am a grade 12 physics student and I am looking into potential topics/concepts for an upcoming physics 'fair-style' project. I have a stong interest in biology, especially zoology, and would like to come up with a project that incorporates both disciplines of science. The assignment is to create a display (including informative posters, hands-on activities, demonstration, etc) and an 8-10 minute presentation, designed to entertain and educate students (from grades 9-12) from my school. Topic choice is pretty open, buy the presentation/display needs to outline one or more physics concept.

I've come up with 2 topic ideas so far:
1. Biomimetics - velcro, adhesives based on gecko setae/'toe pads', synthetic 'shark skin' materials, etc.
2. Animal locomotion - how animals move, examining the mechanics of their motion, etc.

Both topics seem interesting to me, especially biomimetics, but I'm finding it hard to come up with demos/activities, and to link them to relatively basic physics concepts.

Does anyone have any ideas for additional topics? Or suggestions as to how I can develop the topics listed above (i.e. linking to physics concepts, demonstration and/or activities, etc.)?

Any imput would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,