Best way to improve knowledge of electronics/circuit theory?

In summary: It is a bit more in-depth than what you will need for your first job, but it is a great resource. In summary, I would recommend getting The Art of Electronics by Horowitz/Hill if you are comfortable with resistor networks, capacitors and inductors, and Fourier analysis. The book is more in-depth than what you will need for your first job, but it is a great resource.
royco
Hi guys,
I recently finished my Physics undergraduate degree, and will be starting my first job in September. My employers have asked me to improve my knowledge of electronics before I begin work. I would like to improve my ability to analyse and understand circuits, and also learn more about circuit design in general.

I have some basic electronics knowledge, am fairly handy with a soldering iron, and have access to materials to play around with to help learn more. Is there a book or two that it would be worth getting, to try and learn from, or would an online course be better? I've seen varying opinions on "The Art of Electronics", and am not sure if it is at the right level for me either.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
What's your current level in electronics? Are you comfortable with resistor networks? Capacitors and inductors thrown into the mix? Fourier analysis? What about circuit simulation software?

What kinds of applications will the circuits be used in?

royco said:
Hi guys,
I recently finished my Physics undergraduate degree, and will be starting my first job in September. My employers have asked me to improve my knowledge of electronics before I begin work. I would like to improve my ability to analyse and understand circuits, and also learn more about circuit design in general.