Best Minor for a Physics Major with these goals

In summary, the speakers discuss possible career paths in economics/finance and data analysis, considering a minor in statistics and taking courses in computational physics. They also mention the demand and potential salary for data analysts, as well as the role of artificial intelligence in data analysis. The recommended degree fields for a career in data analysis are information technology, computer science, management information systems, or statistics.
grandpa2390
So I am majoring in Physics due to its flexibility (and my love of the subject), but I never intended on going into research. I finally think I've decided what I want to do. I either want to go into some sort of economics/finance (a graduate student I knew got an offer from a major bank), or I want to be some sort of analyst (I love analyzing data. At this point the data I analyze is simple stuff). Or a combination of both.

I only need 2 more courses I think to get a minor in statistics, I am wondering if there is anything else that I should consider minoring in. I thought about a minor in economics/finance, but I read someone else post that undergrad courses in those subjects are worthless, that if I would be better off taking grad level, or teaching myself from books.

any thoughts? I am scheduled to take computational physics and one of the two statistics courses I need over the summer.

Physics news on Phys.org
You tell us, what's your dream job, something that you would like to wake up to every morning? and study for that?

GurfX said:
You tell us, what's your dream job, something that you would like to wake up to every morning? and study for that?
I told you what my dream job would be... finance/economics, data analyst, or both.
is that not specific enough?