Basics of Limits: Why Absolute Value?

In summary, the question is about the difference between the statements |a_n - L| < \epsilon and L - a_n < \epsilon and why the absolute value is necessary in the definition of convergence. The reason for this is that limits are all about showing two numbers getting really close together and the best way to measure distance in one dimension is through absolute value. This allows for both numbers to be compared without worrying about which is larger.
Born2Perform
I know its a banal question but I am new to calculus course and there are no math teachers in summer... also my book does not explain it

Why it is
[tex]\mid a_n - L \mid < \varepsilon [/tex]

And not just
[tex]L - a_n < \varepsilon [/tex]

??
wouldn't the relation be the same?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
If the definition of convergence did not include the absolute values, it would mean, for instance, that the constant sequence [itex]a_n = L+1[/itex] converges to L since for all n, [itex]L-(L+1)=-1<\epsilon[/itex].

The statement [tex]\mid a_n - L \mid < \varepsilon [/tex] requires [tex]a_n[/tex] to be no more than [tex]\varepsilon [/tex] away from L, that is to say [tex]a_n\in (L- \varepsilon , L+ \varepsilon ) [/tex];
whereas the statement [tex]L - a_n < \varepsilon [/tex] only requires [tex]a_n[/tex] less than L by no more than [tex]\varepsilon [/tex], that is to say [tex]a_n\in (L- \varepsilon , L) [/tex].

Here's a more intuitive way of looking at it.. limits are all about showing two numbers get really close together...

The best (only) way to measure distance in one dimension is absolute value. So of course you'd use that