Basic question about coplanar forces

• Thread starter Elevenses
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Forces
In summary, the question is about finding the resultant of five coplanar forces, but the focus is on understanding the discrepancy between the magnitude and x-component of the second force, which is 15.0N and 7.5N respectively. This is because the x-component of a force is calculated using the cosine function, resulting in a value that is half of the original magnitude. With this clarification, the confusion is resolved and the first two forces can be properly analyzed.
Elevenses
Summary:: Adult brand new to maths and physics and starting from the bottom, just for a hobby. I'm working my way through Schaum's Outline of College Physics and cannot understand why the N unit in the below table goes from 15.0N to 7.5N. Total beginner here, and help appreciated :)

I have written this out rather than copy-and-pasted from the textbook in case of copyright reasons. The question is to find the resultant of these five coplanar forces. I have just given the first two forces here because I cannot understand where the 7.50N is coming from although this issue is repeated for the following forces.

Force - - - - x-Component - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - y-Component

19.0N - - - - 19.0N - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 0N
15.0N - - - - (15.0N) cos 60.0 degrees = 7.50N - - - - (15.0N) sin 60.0 degrees = 13.0N

I start off from origin and go along x-axis with the first force, 19.0N. So far so good. Then I move around 60.0 degrees and draw in the second force, 15.0N, only then this becomes 7.50N. Not getting that when Rx = ΣFx, the 15.0N is 7.50N? Thanks!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Elevenses said:
the second force, 15.0N, only then this becomes 7.50N.
15N is the magnitude, 7.5N is the x-component

A.T. said:
15N is the magnitude, 7.5N is the x-component