Basic Circuit Analysis, having difficulties

In summary, the poster is seeking advice on how to make their post cleaner for their first time posting. They are stuck on a problem and have attached their attempt at solving it using nodal analysis, replacing E1 with node A and using a supernode between A and C. However, their solution does not match the answer given by their professor. Another user points out that the upside-down Ω symbols do not mean Ohms and the poster realizes their mistake. They thank the user for pointing it out and continue to try to solve the problem using conductivity = 1/r, but are still getting an incorrect answer. They request for any help.
coachspoon

Homework Statement

Hi, this is my first time posting so if there is any advice on how to make this post cleaner, please tell me! I've been stuck on a problem and I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I have attached the problem and the attempt at solving the problem below. I am supposed to find E1 using nodal analysis.

Homework Equations

In my work that I attached, I replaced the name E1 with node A. I also used a supernode between A and C.

The Attempt at a Solution

Homework Statement

I solved Va = 10/4, however the solution that my professor gave me says its supposed to be 42/3. Any help is appreciated!

Attachments

• EE211#25.jpg
    EE211#25.jpg
    9.1 KB · Views: 440
  • CAM00040.jpg
    CAM00040.jpg
    13.4 KB · Views: 418
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi coachspoon! http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/5725/red5e5etimes5e5e45e5e25.gif

Those upside-down Ω symbols don't mean Ohms!

Last edited by a moderator:
oh my goodness i didn't notice, I'm a bonehead haha! thank you! let me see if i can solve it properly now.

I have solved it using conductivity = 1/r. However, I am still getting an incorrect answer. Any help is appreciated!

Attachments

• CAM00041.jpg
    CAM00041.jpg
    14.1 KB · Views: 435
coachspoon said: