Basic asymmetric crypto question + can you do this with crypto?

• Thread starter cool_arrow
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is asking if there is a way to use public key cryptography to encrypt a message for a recipient and also have the ability to decrypt it using a "master" key. They also inquire if a hierarchy of keys can be created so that any private key can generate multiple public/private key pairs that can be decrypted by both the recipient and the "master" keys. They mention the concept of key escrow and thank the previous commenter for clarifying the process.
cool_arrow
Hi. Crypto noob here learning a little about the subject lately and I have some questions:

1) If I am using public key cryptography (like openpgp) and I encrypt a message for a recipient using their public key, can I decrypt that message using my private key in the future?

2) Does a method of asymmetric cryptography exist that allows one to generate public and private key pairs based on a "master" key such that the "master" can always decrypt anything encrypted with the keys generated/computed from it?

The reason I ask these questions is that I am wondering if there exists a cryptographic method whererby a hierarchy of keys can be created such that any private key can be used to generate any number of public/private key pairs and any message encrypted using these keys derived from the "master" can not only be decrypted by the recipient (of course), but also by the "master" keys from which it was derived.

Does something like this currently exist? Any info is appreciated.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
cool_arrow said:
1) If I am using public key cryptography (like openpgp) and I encrypt a message for a recipient using their public key, can I decrypt that message using my private key in the future?
No. Why would you ever have to do that, considering you would have the plaintext to begin with?