Basic arithmetic through to university lvl textbook recommendations

In summary, the conversation is about a high school student seeking recommendations for mathematics textbooks to help fill in gaps in their learning and prepare for university level math. The speaker recommends "Basic Mathematics" by Serge Lang for basic arithmetic, "Calculus: Early Transcendentals" by James Stewart for calculus, "Algebra and Trigonometry" by Michael Sullivan or "Geometry" by Ray C. Jurgensen for algebra and geometry, and "Linear Algebra and Its Applications" by David C. Lay for university level math. They also suggest checking out the "For Dummies" series and using online resources for additional practice and support.
Powermaniac
Hi all, newbie here.

So I've tried asking this question on Reddit with barely a reply and now another forum I frequent with also not much of a reply. And a while back an acquaintance recommended this forum to me.

So my request is can you recommend me some mathematics textbooks that go from basic arithmetic all the way up to university level mathematics. See I'm in high school currently (year 11) but I've been a sick kid and thus there are gaps in my learning. I therefore basically wish to re-teach myself maths. Plus some good textbooks are always good for a future reference. I've been using Khan Academy but it's lacking in some areas. And I know about the other sites and have checked them out but I am looking for books just books. And knowing what books to get is the hard bit here.

So any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

If I've posted in the wrong area sorry and please move it to the appropriate area.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

Hi there,

First of all, welcome to the forum! It's great to see that you are eager to learn and improve your understanding of mathematics. I can definitely understand the importance of having a strong foundation in math.