Autoregression and ARCH GARCH models

• Thread starter hayyan1
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Models
In summary, the person is seeking advice on where to begin studying ARCH and GARCH models. They mention having a degree in Mathematics and Physics without coverage of statistics, but believe their understanding of basic stats and probability will suffice. They are provided with a link to a helpful resource.
hayyan1
Hello guys, I need to understand the ARCH and GARCH models and so I need some advice on where I should begin my study. In order to understand ARCH models, am I right to begin with studying autoregression? If so can you guys provide me with a link or book I should look into...

By the way, I have a masters degree in Mathematics and Physics, but I have not covered any statistics in my degree. This shouldn't be a problem, I don't think, because I know the basics of stats and probability.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Thanks Ill check that out

Related to Autoregression and ARCH GARCH models

1. What is autoregression?

Autoregression is a statistical model used to analyze time series data, where the current value of a variable is dependent on its past values. It is based on the assumption that there is a linear relationship between the current value and a certain number of previous values.

2. What is the difference between autoregression and ARCH GARCH models?

Autoregressive models only consider the past values of a variable, whereas ARCH GARCH models also take into account the volatility of the variable. ARCH GARCH models are used to model and forecast the volatility of a time series, while autoregressive models are used for forecasting the actual values of the series.

3. How are ARCH GARCH models useful in financial analysis?