Australians going to Princeton

• Thread starter kurt.physics
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Princeton
In summary, it is very hard to get into top American undergraduate schools if you are not American. It is also very rare for Australian students to go to these schools.
kurt.physics
How rare is it for Australian students to go to an American University for Undergraduate studies? Is it hard to get into say Princeton or Harvard if your not American?

Say i am a student who participated in the IMO (International Mathematical Olympiad) or the IPhO (International physics Olympiad) and win a medal, does that increase my chances dramatically?

Physics news on Phys.org
Pretty rare I would suppose. Yes, it's very hard to get into top undergrad schools as an international applicant. I'm not sure about quotas or separate application piles for international applicants but the competition is fierce.

Of course it would help your chances, but I wouldn't say dramatically. If you won a gold medal at the IMO, which is a very very impressive feat, you still might not be accepted if you were a terrible slacker. However, most international students who participate in olympiads are probably very intelligent AND hard working.

snipez90 said:
Pretty rare I would suppose. Yes, it's very hard to get into top undergrad schools as an international applicant. I'm not sure about quotas or separate application piles for international applicants but the competition is fierce.

Of course it would help your chances, but I wouldn't say dramatically. If you won a gold medal at the IMO, which is a very very impressive feat, you still might not be accepted if you were a terrible slacker. However, most international students who participate in olympiads are probably very intelligent AND hard working.