Attenuation and source positioning

In summary, there is no easy way to determine the distance to a source of radiation. You would need to use measurements of intensity at different distances to find the attenuation coefficient.
Dade Murphy
Hello,
I've been reading about attenuation, and I wonder if there's a way to determine the distance to your source. Forgive my poor writing; I'm new to the topic.

I understand that equation for linear attenuation is
I = I0e-μx
where:
I = intensity
I0 = initial intensity
μ = attenuation coefficient
x = distance traveled through medium​

My question is this: if I have the information μ and I, is there some way to determine x, and/or I0? It seems that I need to find either of those to find them both, so I wonder if there's some other measurements I could take that would make this possible.
For a simple-minded example, would it be possible to take measurements of intensity at a variety of perpendicular distances in order to determine the geometric spreading and work backward from that to find distance x?

Thank you kindly for your time and knowledge.

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Hello Dade, :welcome:

If you draw a graph of the relationship, you can see that there is no way to pinpoint the source position from a single intensity measurement: the line can be extrapolated to the left and a source of the appropriate strength can be at any position.

Your recipe should work: you get some angular distribution and clearly the width depends on the distance from the source.

Alternatively, if you know the direction the radiation comes from (because of the way the detector is built, like with a peephole or something) you can use your measurement device to do a bit of trigonometry...

Likes Dade Murphy
BvU, thank you for the quick response!