At what point should a grad student "understand" QM?

In summary: Sakurai brings up in class. For example, I know that in QM, the state of a system is a function of its past and present, but I don't know what the mathematical representation of that is. I also find that I struggle with the end of chapter problems, especially when they are more advanced. I find that I need to Google some of the problems to get an idea of what to do. Aren't those things you don't get just tricks? QM is just Hilbert space, commutation relations, Hamiltonian, Born rule, just like electrodynamics is Maxwell's equations. I think that is all there is to get (I'm not really qualified to say, since I
TomServo
Let me define the question better. For my purposes I'm saying a person "understand quantum mechanics" when they have what it takes to write a basic graduate level QM textbook. Maybe I'm setting the bar too high, but I'm a first-year physics grad student who can get good grades in QM classes but I don't *get* it, and reading through a book like Shankar or Sakurai or even Griffiths or McIntyre I see plenty of stuff I never would have thought of.

I realize QM is the work of many dozens if not hundreds of geniuses working over decades to put it in its modern form, but I feel bad that I keep forgetting things I learned two chapters ago or that I don't know how to solve the end of chapter problems without help, etc.

Sorry if this question is asked a lot, I couldn't find an equivalent to it using the search.

Physics news on Phys.org
TomServo said:
Let me define the question better. For my purposes I'm saying a person "understand quantum mechanics" when they have what it takes to write a basic graduate level QM textbook. Maybe I'm setting the bar too high, but I'm a first-year physics grad student who can get good grades in QM classes but I don't *get* it, and reading through a book like Shankar or Sakurai or even Griffiths or McIntyre I see plenty of stuff I never would have thought of.