Astrophysics or Medical Physics

In summary, the conversation discusses the dilemma of choosing between a career in Astrophysics or Medical Physics. The individual expresses a preference for Astrophysics but is concerned about the limited job market and higher pay in Medical Physics. They are advised to gain experience in both fields and to keep their options open by pursuing a general physics degree. It is also suggested to consider getting a Master's in Medical Physics and a PhD in Astrophysics, or working as a clinical medical physicist while still participating in astrophysics research. Ultimately, the individual is encouraged to research and consider all options before making a decision.
Gypsie
I am a second year undergraduate currently majoring in Astrophysics, and I'm not sure whether I want to stick with Astrophysics or tend down the path towards Medical Physics.

I feel like I would enjoy a career in either. I would probably enjoy a career in Astrophysics a bit more than a career in Medical Physics. I'd say on a scale from 1 to 10 mapping the degree to which I feel I would enjoy a career in each field, Astrophysics gets a 9 and Medical Physics gets a 7.

However, I feel as though it will be far more difficult to get a career in Astrophysics started than it would for Medical Physics. There are fewer job openings, and thus more competition. What I don't want to do is go for Astrophysics and end up doing something that has nothing to do with Astrophysics, especially when I could have been doing Medical Physics.

A career in Medical Physics also pays more. It pays anywhere from $30,000 to $50,000 more a year.

I also feel that a career in Medical Physics is more stable. That is to say, there is less worry that your current job might not be your last permanent position, and less worry about having to move all the time.