Assumptions of Griffith's fracture theory

In summary, the conversation discusses the search for experts on Griffith's fracture theory and the validity of the theory for initial crack lengths. The speaker is building a simulation model and is unsure if it should produce similar results for critical stress when the initial crack length is not small compared to the system's length scale. Suggestions for finding information on the theory include consulting experts in material science or fracture mechanics, researching published research, and contacting organizations such as ASTM or commercial vendors.
wonderer_85
Any experts on Griffith's fracture theory?

I am studying the subject and I am having hard time finding out if the theory is valid for all possible initial crack lengths. I have heard from pretty reliable source that we must assume small crack length compared to the macroscopic length of the system. But I haven't found this restriction from the material in the web.

I am building a DEM simulation model and I would like to test it against the Griffith's fracture theory but I am not sure if the simulation should produce similar values for critical stress when the length of the initial crack is not small compared to the length scale of the system.

Physics news on Phys.org