Associations like acm, ieee, and shpe

• Thread starter kadaj6
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ieee
In summary, the conversation discusses the benefits and downsides of joining professional societies such as acm, ieee, and shpe for future career advancement. These societies offer opportunities for professional networking, access to educational and technical materials, and potential prestige, but may also involve a bureaucratic structure and time commitment. It is advised to carefully consider the benefits and drawbacks before subscribing to any society.
kadaj6
I am currently a computer engineer student and I am looking into associations like acm, ieee, and shpe. Which one will help best for my future career and is it worth subscribing to one.

Thank you in advance

Physics news on Phys.org

anyone? please?

Any of them. All of them.

There is a direct relationship to the "benefit received" to the amount of "effort expended and participation."

Benefits are just exactly what all of these types of professional societies state:
  • Professional networking, meetings & conferences, & knowing colleagues. Most good jobs come from relationships. For entrepreneurs, most good contracts come from relationships. People with whom to share / discuss ideas and concepts, and all of that.
  • Access to the educational or technical materials of the societies. If not free, then at less expense.
  • Prestige. That one is debateable.
  • You can put this stuff on your resume.

The downsides:
  • Many of these societies masquerade as providing some benefit, but in reality they are a big bureaucracy of fat cats that need membership to support them and their lifestyle. Be careful.