How to Determine the Centroid of a Complex Plane Area in Calculus?

• Thread starter agro
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Centroid
In summary, the conversation is about finding the centroid of a plane area in the first quadrant bounded by two equations and the x axis. The person has tried splitting the plane into two parts and finding the centroids of each part, but is stuck on finding the area. They are asking for help or alternative methods.
agro
This is a problem from a past final calculus test in my university (I'm studying for the finals which will come in around 1 week :) ):

Find the centroid of a plane area in the first quadrant bounded by

[itex]x^{2/3}+y^{2/3}=2^{2/3}[/itex]

[itex]\frac{x^2}{9}+\frac{y^2}{4}=1[/itex]

and the x axis.

I tried splitting the plane into 2 parts, one from x = 0 to x = 2 (call this plane 1), and the other from x = 2 to x = 3 (call this plane 2). My tactic is to find the centroids of each plane. I can then easily find the centroid of the composite plane. Then I define these equations:

[itex]y_1 = \sqrt{4-\frac{4}{9}x^2}[/itex]
[itex]y_2 = \left({2^{2/3}-x^{2/3}}\right)^{3/2}[/itex]

Here are the integrals I formulated:

To find the area of plane 1:

[itex]A_1=\int_0^2(y_1-y_2)dx[/itex]

To find the area of plane 2:

[itex]A_2=\int_2^3y_1dx[/itex]

To find the (first) moment of plane 1 with respect to the y axis:

[itex]M_{1y}=\int_0^2x(y_1-y_2)dx[/itex]

To find the moment of plane 1 with respect to the x axis:

[itex]M_{1x}=\frac{1}{2}\int_0^2(y_1+y_2)(y_1-y_2)dx[/itex]

And similiarly,

[itex]M_{2y}=\int_2^3xy_1dx[/itex]
[itex]M_{2x}=\frac{1}{2}\int_2^3y_1^2dx[/itex]

I'm stuck at finding the area. The definite integral which I must evaluate is:

[itex]\int_0^2\sqrt{4-\frac{4}{9}x^2}dx-\int_0^2\left({2^{2/3}-x^{2/3}}\right)^{3/2}dx[/itex]

The first term evaluates to (If I had done it correctly)

[itex]3\arcsin{\frac{2}{3}}+\frac{2\sqrt{5}}{3}[/itex]