What is the best thermometer for measuring filament surface temperature and why?

In summary, an A-Level student in their second year is seeking help for their upcoming particle exam. They are specifically looking for guidance on how to measure the temperature of the surface of a lamp. The recommended instrument for this task is an optical pyrometer, as direct contact measurements would have too large of an effect on the temperature and would not provide an accurate reading. Using a color comparison method through an eyepiece and a dial is the most effective way to obtain a meaningful temperature reading for a filament.
sheikhfahad
i am an A-Level student second year and i got this particle exam, i want some help.

i wanted to know how to measure the temperature of the sureface of the lamp. What thermometer would be the best to measure the temperature and why? thank you

Science news on Phys.org
A filament is a blackbody radiator its color is a direct indication of its temperature. The instrument used for this purpose is Called and Optical pyrometer. You view the filament through an eyepiece while adjusting an internal filament to match the color of the filament to be measured. The temperature is then read from a dial. Any thermometer or direct contact measurement would have such a large effect on the temperature of the filament that any reading obtained would be meaningless. The only way to get a meaningful temperature is be color comparison.