As a CS student I am required to take a two part physics course.

In summary: After a while I just stopped hiring comp. sci. majors. A software engineer should be able to think about problems in any language, not just the ones they're familiar with.In summary, a software engineer typically consists of solving problems. Just coding things is a side effect. The computer scientists used to come knowing lots about scripting languages, writing compilers, Rails, Java, C#, LINQ, and so forth. Unfortunately for them, coding for financial mathematics relies almost exclusively on C++, and the C++ code they wrote was generally absolute garbage. However, the physicists/mathematicians came to us knowing an awful lot less about programming than their comp. sci. counterparts. However, they were infinitely better at sitting down
Disowned
Will it be of any use to me if I just want to be a software engineer (which typical just consist of me coding things?)

Computer science news on Phys.org
Being a software engineer typically consists of solving problems. Just coding things is a side effect.

It's probably going to be of more use than your compiler class (when are you goign to write a compiler?) or most of your algorithms class (when are you going to write your own sort routine?).

The logic of physics and coding are very similar. In all reality, coding would be much better if more people used a scientific method-type approach to coding.

wxrocks said:
The logic of physics and coding are very similar. In all reality, coding would be much better if more people used a scientific method-type approach to coding.