Article that Explains IGBT well

In summary, the conversation was about an undergraduate student struggling to understand IGBT. They mentioned understanding the basic principle but having trouble explaining how it works. They asked for a straightforward article to better understand the device. The responder suggested checking Wikipedia's article on IGBT for a clear explanation.
GreenPrint
Hi,

I'm an undergraduate EE major and am having trouble understanding IGBT. I understand the basic principle, a PNP transistor in ? (forgot the name) configuration with a MOSFET with a parasitic NPN transistor. I understand that it's a 4 layered device.

I however think I would struggle trying to explain how it exactly works. Can anybody direct me to a very easy to understand article on IGBT? I have found many that covers various things, but I can't find a article that's very straight forward and direct on explaining how exactly these devices work.

Thanks,

Engineering news on Phys.org

Related to Article that Explains IGBT well

1. What is an IGBT and how does it work?

An IGBT (Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor) is a type of semiconductor device used for power control and switching. It combines the features of a MOSFET (Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor) and a bipolar transistor. The IGBT operates by controlling the flow of current between the collector and emitter terminals using a gate voltage, which is controlled by a small current flowing through the gate terminal.

2. What are the advantages of using IGBTs?

IGBTs have several advantages compared to other power switching devices such as thyristors or MOSFETs. These include higher current and voltage ratings, lower switching losses, and better thermal stability. IGBTs also have a fast switching speed and can be turned on and off easily using small gate currents.

3. What are the main applications of IGBTs?