Are there freelance jobs online?

In summary: You would be trusting people to give honest reviews of your work, and if they are not happy with the finished product, they could choose to not say anything.I don't think it's a good idea, it could backfire really badly.
jonjacson
Hello to everybody,

I have been looking for online physics jobs, that can be done from home. I wonder if that kind of jobs exist.

I have found jobs related with teaching online, writing articles and so on, but I wonder if there is any option to do "real" physics.

Of course I don't expect to lead a team of researchers, I am thinking more about maybe boring tasks physicists find in their everyday routine. Maybe they could find it useful to outsource that kind of tasks to others. Do you know if there is a website, university... offering that kind of jobs?

I have a Bachelor Degree, I mean I could do it reliably.

I think that is the future, online jobs, and we are still in the early stages of that. I used the search tab but I could not find threads talking about this, I apologize if it is a known topic on other threads.

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't imagine there are. The position you describe looks a lot like that of a green graduate student, only more expensive and with the added difficulty of working online.

Why would a research team want to share their unpublished data etc online with somebody they know nothing about?

Apart from that, there is the issue that it doesn't save any time delegating a task to somebody else, if it takes longer to explain what to do and check it was done right that just doing it yourself.

If you want to work online, make sure you are dealing with a reputable employer, not somebody who will "forget" to pay you, and vanish when you complain about it!

There are some unpaid projects like planethunters, galaxy zoo and so on.