Are There Any Recommended Books for Undergraduate Math Competition Preparation?

• Thread starter talisman2212
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mathematical
In summary, the conversation discusses the interest in mathematical competitions and the lack of preparation and advising in the university for students. The person asks for book recommendations for preparation in mathematical competitions and problem-solving. The response suggests "The art and craft of problem solving" and "Problem-Solving Strategies" and advises finding a professor who is an expert in the Putnam exam for tutoring. The conversation also mentions the difficulty level of the Putnam exam compared to other competitions such as the IMO and IMC.
talisman2212
Hi. I am from Greece and I am an undergraduate student at the University of Patra and I study pure Mathematics. I am interested in mathematical competitions a lot, but I have never gone before in a mathematical competition. I want to study so I can be able to take part in competitions for undergraduate students. Here in my university there isn't lot of advising and preparation for students who are willing to take part in mathematical contests.
Could you recommend some good books for preparation in mathematical competitions for undergraduate students? I am also interested in books for solving problems, could you suggest me some good books? Any suggestions would be really appreciated.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
how hard an exam are you contemplating? the hardest one in the USA is probably the Putnam exam:

here is a link for old questions and answers:

http://www.math.niu.edu/~rusin/problems-math/

I am willing to prepare for very hard exams, I have heard about Putnam exam, but I didn't know that is the hardest.