Are HTML and CSS files necessary in the HTDOCS folder for PHP to work in XAMPP?

• PHP
  • Thread starter Dave Ritche
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Php
In summary: Hello everyone..I am learning php and I'm new to php.I don't know much about it.i watched a tutuorial on it that told me i were to put my scripts into the HTDOCS folder.My question is that is it necessary to my html and css files into HTDOCS folder?Will it work?I am running xampp..thanks.In summary, it is necessary to put your scripts in the HTDOCS folder if you want your browser to be able to access them. If you're using xampp, then it should work.
Dave Ritche
Hello everyone..
I am learning php and I'm new to php.I don't know much about it.
i watched a tutuorial on it that told me i were to put my scripts into the HTDOCS folder.
My question is that is it necessary to my html and css files into HTDOCS folder?Will it work?
I am running xampp..
thanks.

Technology news on Phys.org
Dave Ritche said:
Hello everyone..
i watched a tutuorial on it that told me i were to put my scripts into the HTDOCS folder.
My question is that is it necessary to my html and css files into HTDOCS folder?Will it work?
I am running xampp..
thanks.
Every file that the browser has to directly access must be in the HTDOCS folder or a subfolder of HTDOCS.
This applies to a php file that the url refers to.
Also, if your HTML includes statements like:
HTML:
<script src="/somepath/js/directives.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<link href="/somepath/css/standard.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"/>
then the referenced folders must exist in HTDOCS.

Your can rename the folder (my WAMP version uses www).
Your php code can access files in folders outside the HTDOCS folder. But the browser can't.

Likes Dave Ritche
Samy_A said:
Every file that the browser has to directly access must be in the HTDOCS folder or a subfolder of HTDOCS.