Are doubts about physics common for undergrads?

In summary: Simply relying on natural talent will not be enough and having a competitive mindset may actually be harmful. It is important to focus on a deep desire to understand nature and to be willing to put in the necessary hard work to achieve that goal.
Shahzaib Chaudry
Hello world. I am currently a junior at a very high powered physics school that u transferred to. I am majoring in physics and have been planning on going to grad school. However, lately I've been having doubts about my major. I came here from another school in the UT system. Everything was fine at my older school. But when I got here, I noticed that so many people lived and breathed physics at this school. And for me personally, I don't want to have to do that. I like physics a lot. But now, my school is making me like it less and less. At first it was fun to learn about it. Now I am really beginning to question whether or not I'm smart enough. I always had a bad work ethic. And I've gotten away with it so far. Including for this semester. But I know later on that's going to have to change and I'm going to need to be spending hous upon hours on physics class work and lab work (lab I don't mind). I'm even beginning to question whether or not I'm smart enough. If I'm not able to answer a physics problem on my own I feel really down about it. And this sucks because I don't want to be just another average joe in physics. I want to be at the top. My question to the undergrads is whether or not you guys feel the same way, and my question to the grass is did you feel the same way in undergrad?

Physics news on Phys.org
1. At grad school, you will be expected to live and breath physics. If you think you're going to go through grad school with minimal effort, then think again. It will take up a lot of time and effort. So if you're not prepared to spend the majority of your day thinking about or doing physics, then grad school is not for you.