Are blocks (billets) of metal crystals?

In summary, the conversation discusses the crystalline form of aluminum and whether or not it is considered a crystal structure. It is explained that aluminum is both a crystalline form and a metallic bond, and that other metals also have similar properties. The photo provided shows an aluminum block in a polycrystalline state with visible grain boundaries. It is also mentioned that the corrosion of brass in a urinal can serve as an example of probability distribution and the importance of hand washing.
Jbcourt
I work as a machinest and Mill mostly aluminum. I was wondering if the billets are Aluminum its crystalline form? Or just lots of Aluminum atoms held together by Metallic bond?

thank you.

Attached is a photo of Aluminum Block.

Attachments

• 2010-07-23 11.29.32_Sumner_Washington_US.jpg
    2010-07-23 11.29.32_Sumner_Washington_US.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 508
Physics news on Phys.org
I enjoyed the picture.
The answer is both. Metallic bonds are when the metal atoms are held in a crystal structure, sharing a 'sea' of electrons. If you would call this a "crystalline state (form)" is semantics... and up to interpretation. A crystal structure is just a highly regular one (i.e. based on repeating units), which a metal is; a 'crystal' is generally a substance in a crystal structure, that often isn't (e.g. carbon is usually in the form of graphite, or coal, or whatever, rarely in a crystal; or quartz--which is the crystal form of silica[sand]).

Thank you zhermes.

I have always wondered about this and couldn't get the answer I wanted from the open net.

O'yeah, are all other metal like this also?

The aluminum block (along with all common metals in bulk form) is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polycrystal" , made up of many individual crystals, or grains, with sizes typically 10 nm - 100 μm.

Last edited by a moderator:
Mapes said:
sizes typically 10 nm - 100 μm.