Are BECs superfluid or vice versa or what?

• Thread starter moosh4
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Superfluid
In summary, according to the physicist, BECs can occur in two different ways: via a broken symmetry and via off-diagonal long-range order. However, the two transitions are actually quite different and are not always interchangeable.
moosh4
I'm a physicist doing a course on condensates, superfluidity and superconductivity and I'm confused as to how these states overlap. Are all BECs necessarily superfluid? Are all superfluids necessarily BECs? The literature is incredibly ambiguous :frown:

Physics news on Phys.org
Superfluidity is often produced at the same time as BEC. BEC is often produced without superfluidity. Superfluidity is occasionally produced without BEC.

genneth said:
Superfluidity is occasionally produced without BEC.
What!? Can you provide some more details for us, as this sounds interesting.

Superfluidity is characterised by non-classical rotational inertia, i.e. the existence of vortices of a quantum nature. BEC is a macroscopic condensation. In 2D or 1D, it is not possible have an ordered state such as a BEC; but nevertheless, it is possible to have superfluidic properties.

http://www.pnas.org/content/96/14/7760.full

genneth said:
In 2D or 1D, it is not possible have an ordered state such as a BEC; but nevertheless, it is possible to have superfluidic properties.

It is widely accepted that microcavity polaritons also undergo Bose-Einstein condensation and form a 2D BEC. However this is quite an unusual BEC as it can only have limited spatial size and is always in a state of nonequilibrium.

For completeness, I should mention that there are (at least) three widely used definitions of BEC. The budding physics student should probably not worry too much about the differences, but they do matter.

1. Order via broken U(1) symmetry. Usually signalled by the existence of a non-zero <c>. Downside: can't actually happen in any finite system.