Applied Mathematics or Computer Science?

In summary, I am wondering if applied mathematics would be beneficial to me in my physics studies and if computer science would be a good program to pursue if I want to pursue a career in mathematics or physics.
Kumo
Hi Everybody,

I am in my final year of high school, and want to enrol with the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa next year, and I will hopefully be going for a Bsc in computer science, math and physics. However, I have been wondering a couple of things over the past few months, and the answers I have yet to find.

My first and main question is whether or not applied mathematics will help me a great deal in my physics studies, and a career path in either physics or mathematics, as I have been torn on whether or not a should rather take applied mathematics in place of computer science. The second major question that I have is whether or not computer science would aid me in a similar manner, and possibly open up channels that wouldn’t be available otherwise. I know that to some extent computational skills are gaining ground when it comes to physics and the study thereof, but I am unaware of the extent to which this is occurring.

There is also the question of whether or not it would be worth it to take computer science without applied mathematics, and how I would fare without it.

If someone could help shed some light on these questions it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for your time.

Physics news on Phys.org
It might help to clarify something here - are you talking about triple majoring in physics, computer science, and mathematics or are you talking about the set of first year courses that you would be taking in a physics major?

Choppy said:
It might help to clarify something here - are you talking about triple majoring in physics, computer science, and mathematics or are you talking about the set of first year courses that you would be taking in a physics major?