Applied Mathematics and Electrical Engineering

In summary: If you want to be a Computer Scientist specializing in Signal Processing then find a good Computer Science program with EE as a major. Most companies will hire someone with some level of experience in the area they are seeking expertise in.
Mathmaybe
Hi, I posted a thread a while back about a problem I had in a class, it has resolved itself fortunately but now I have another question.

I am an undergraduate mathematics major and I initially planed to go to(and likely will go to) graduate school in applied mathematics.

I have always had a passing interest in Electrical Engineering but I decided not to pursue it for a number of reasons.

My question is, would it be difficult to integrate EE into an applied mathematics Masters or PhD degree? To what extent could I pick up EE classes during my graduate studies, to what extent do I need to know EE before going into it?

Also I think I would like an industry job, while I won't have a degree in EE explicitly, do you think it would be difficult to get hired in industry related to this field?

Physics news on Phys.org
Mathmaybe said:
I have always had a passing interest in Electrical Engineering but I decided not to pursue it for a number of reasons.

Do you tinker with electronics? - build simple devices? I'm not an EE, but I'd say don't count on your mathematical training making undergraduate EE courses easy. If you already understand circuit analysis and PAL programming, it woud nice to get official credit for those skills by taking the courses. If you don't aleady have those skills, the courses would be real work.