How does the movement of water affect resistance?

In summary, Aleks Ponjavic from Sweden is currently competing in a worldwide physicstournament. His task is to work with a problem both with theory and experiments. A professor here in Sweden told him that their problem is very similar to magnetoresistance. They have done some experiments and they have concluded that for water that runs in a U-shaped pipe solely accelerated by gravity: If the electricity is led across the pipe the resistance grows with the velocity. If the electricity is led alongsides the pipe the resistance grows or sinks with the velocity depending on the direction of the nodes in other words where we have - and +.
ponjavic
Im a high-school student from Sweden currently competing in a worldwide physicstournament. Our task is to work with a problem both with theory and experiments. A professor here in Sweden told me that our problem is very similar to magnetoresistance.

The question is as follows:

Flow
Using a dc source, investigate how the resistance between two metallic wires dipped into a flowing liquid depends upon the speed and direction of the flow

The assignment consists of both building a theory revolving the connection between velocity, resistance and direction and also to prove these theories with experiments.

We have done some experiments and can conclude the following.

For water that runs in a U-shaped pipe solely accelerated by gravity:
If the electricity is led across the pipe the resistance grows with the velocity.
If the electricity is led alongsides the pipe the resistance grows or sinks with the velocity depending on the direction of the nodes in other words where we have - and +.

This is obviously unpure water as pure water would give no difference when switching - + and + - in the second scenario.