Analyzing Gut Microbes and Diseases in Turkey

• Thread starter Zeynel
  • Start date
In summary, based on what you've said, you are interested in the gut microbes that associate with known diseases. DNA sequencing can uniquely identify these microbes, but this technology is expensive and not always reliable. You may need to find a cheaper or more reliable way to study the gut microbiota.
Zeynel
Hello, I hope this is the right forum to ask this question. I'm a layman who is very interested in the microbes that live in our gut. I want to initiate a citizen science project to relate gut microbes to known diseases. For instance, this research ties Lupus to gut microbes http://www.hcplive.com/conference-c...obiome-seems-to-have-role-in-triggering-lupus

I'm imagining to form a company.

My question is: What type of machinery would anyone who wants to identify gut microbes uses? I'm in Turkey and I want to find out if this test can be done here.

My other question is: It is possible to identify gut microbes by traditional lab methods as in a Comprehensive Stool Test without using DNA. İs this technique inferior to DNA method?

Also please remember that I know nothing about microbiology.Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Biology news on Phys.org
The important thing to keep in mind about the human biome is that there are on the order of 10^5 species and at least 10^7 or 10^8 strains of microbes present. So whatever your methodology will be, some sort of high throughput set of methods will likely be warranted.

Thanks for the answer. Do you know how much of the 100,000 species are known? If we don't know them how do we know there are 100,000 species? And do you know the name of the equipment used to identify these microbes so that I can investigate if this analysis is being done in Turkey?