Analyzing Franck Hertz Graph on Excel/Matlab

• MATLAB
  • Thread starter jenny777
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Graph Hertz
In summary, you could measure the change in the current and use an exponential or linear line to determine when the increase in the gradient becomes statistically significant.
jenny777
Hello,

How can I determine when the current is starting rise? What methods should I use to do so? on excel or matlab.

I've attached an image of my graph below

Thanks a million

Attachments

• curve.jpg
    curve.jpg
    10.3 KB · Views: 418
Physics news on Phys.org
Er, can you use a ruler?

that's what I did on my last lab, for Planck's constant, but apparently I need some systematic way of determining it according to my TA

I'm writing a formal lab report for Franck Hertz oscillation

Can you plot the gradient using Excel. Then if possible say when the increase in the gradient becomes statistically significant?

how do I find the gradient? (sorry I'm not really good at this)

Or may get Excel to determine the best fit line. It will tell you the equation of the line and where is crosses the x axis.

If you don't know how look up trend lines in Excel help.

I tried fitting an exponential and linear line, but it didn't work. it was way too off. But why would the would I be looking for a y-intercept of the line? (where it crosses the origin)

oops, i meant to say why would I be, not why would the would I ...haha

jenny777 said:
how do I find the gradient? (sorry I'm not really good at this)

Rather than plot the current, you could plot the change in the current. That would be the change in each current measurement divided by the each little change in your input variable. That would be the gradient.

Likes 1 person
jenny777 said:
I tried fitting an exponential and linear line, but it didn't work. it was way too off. But why would the would I be looking for a y-intercept of the line? (where it crosses the origin)