An easy one about atomic bombs.

• Thread starter BillH
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Atomic
In summary: P7Tvvm3GvKvQf2fC4BQ&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CB8Q6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=%22plowshare%22%20project%20livermore&f=false
BillH
The Little Boy bomb dropped on Hiroshima was very inefficient in terms of the amount of uranium fissioned. My questions are: What happened to the unreacted uranium and does it still pose a problem? I'm sure for most of you on this site this is an extremely easy question, but I am new to this and would really appreciate any help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Considering that it was seemingly relatively safe to stand right next to (or at least be in the same plane as) the bomb where the uranium was concentrated, I would assume that less than 60 kg of uranium spread over an area of say 10 km² (value guesstimated from the wikipedia article on the hiroshima bombing) causes a negligible radiation stress.
Personal sidenote: I always have to wonder why people are interested in nukes. Apart from some exotic ideas about accelerating spaceships, they are pretty useless devices - at least for morally-acceptable applications.

Last edited:
Likes Garlic
Another exotic idea is to save us from astreoids :)

Timo said:
Personal sidenote: I always have to wonder why people are interested in nukes. Apart from some exotic ideas about accelerating spaceships, they are pretty useless devices - at least for morally-acceptable applications.
Well, they are the most powerful form of energy we have yet been able to harness. Why would we NOT exploit it?

Timo said:
I always have to wonder why people are interested in nukes. Apart from some exotic ideas about accelerating spaceships, they are pretty useless devices - at least for morally-acceptable applications.

Hmm, Fusion Reactor... Atomic Bomb...