Hydroelectric power station

• Thread starter Alix
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Power
In summary: L/s."The exit velocity (m/s) of the water assuming all potential energy is converted to kenetic energy""My Work:""mgh = 1/2mv^2 => 2gh=v^2 => V = 55 .64 m/s""Cross Section Area of pipe: 0.63 m^2""Q = V \times A => Q = 55.64 \times 0.63 = 35.05 m^3/s""With losses""i) Usee Bernoulli's equation to determine the exit velocity
Alix
I have a question that I have to answer and it seems I really stuck its for my mechanical engineering course (I'm actually studying Aerospace) I'd appreciate any help.

Q: Water driving a hydroelectric power station falls a total distance of 158 m.
Calculate the total power available assuming all energy is harnessed.

Ive already found the answer for exit velocity of water and volume flow rate couldn't find mass flow rate (as I couldn't remember the equation).

I really appreciate any help :wink:

[tex]

\mu = {10^-6}

[/tex]

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to the forums, Alix!

Always good to see another aerohead here!

Couldn't you calculate the specific power? Basically ignore the mass term and find an answer in W/kg.

EDIT
Ive already found the answer for exit velocity of water and volume flow rate couldn't find mass flow rate (as I couldn't remember the equation).

Ignore what I just said. Mass is volume times density (keep the units in the calculation... you'll see they cancel out and leave mass)

Last edited:
Thanks for warm welcome enigma :smile: .
If I´m not mistaken, I need time in order to find power as " Power = Work Done / time " and we don't have any time or anything related to find power.

any help

Last edited:
The answer would have to be in watts per volume per second. If you know the flow rate then you should be done.

Last edited:
Ivan Seeking said:
The answer would have to be in watts per volume per second. If you know the flow rate then you should be done.