Am I Cut Out for a Math Major? Experiencing Doubts and Confusion as a Sophomore

In summary, it's normal to have doubts and struggles in pursuing a math major, but it's important to stay focused and work on developing proof abilities and understanding the material. Don't be afraid to ask for help and remember that hard work is necessary for success.
SMA_01
I'm a sophomore math major. I've always liked math, and started college with a double major in chem and math, but now I have decided to drop chem and focus on math. I'm taking calc 3, proofs, and linear algebra ( not the proof-based one) this semester. However, these past days I have had some serious doubts. I'm confused because just a few days ago I was all up for a math major, and was excited to learn and understand things more. I even went to talk to an undergrad math advisor, and I guess that's when I started to really have doubts. It's just I feel like maybe I'm not cut out for a math major after all? Just thinking about those upper level courses like Abstract Algebra and Real Analysis, makes me really question myself, as to whether i'll be able to excel there. Do you think I'm over thinking this? Has anyone had any experience? Any advice is appreciated

Physics news on Phys.org
Of course you are over-thinking the situation! Right now, you need to focus on developing your proof abilities in you proof class, as well as making sure you have a solid understanding of the material in your other math classes.

Are algebra and analysis hard? I sure thought so. But, I made it through with a lot of hard work. As long as you are enjoying what you are studying and are willing to put in the time and work necessary to develop the appropriate level of understanding, I think you will be fine. You're not at a point where you can appreciate much of the content in those courses yet, so you shouldn't be dreading them! Strong proof skills are important, though, so don't neglect your proof class.

Cheers.