Allocating specific computer resources to a program

In summary, the person is looking for a way to run a numerically intensive program with controlled resources, specifically RAM and clock cycles, in order to accurately measure its performance and make comparisons with simulations run on different computers. They are considering using a professional profiler like Intel Vtune, but it may not be suitable for job control. They are also considering using a virtual machine to limit the resources available to the program, but it may not be the best approach for optimization. The main goal is to record the length of each simulation and the resources available to the program.
ChrisHarvey
Hi everyone,

I'm not a computer scientist by any stretch, so I really apologise if this is a stupid question.

This is my situation:

I'm trying to help out one of my colleagues who has written a highly numerically intensive program which consumes RAM. He now has a large number of simulations to run. One of the things he's measuring is how long the program takes to run.

We obviously know what his computer spec is, but he's running the software along side a whole load of other programs and services on Windows XP (e.g. virus scanner). We therefore don't know exactly what resources are available to the program when it runs. Also, since there are so many simulations to run, he wants to run them on several different computers (each of which has a slightly different spec) to save some time.

Is there any way (or software he can buy) which can run the program in a "controlled virtual environment" where it be can set exactly how much RAM is available to the software and how many clock cycles it is allowed so he can say accurately how the program performs and also make comparisons with simulations run on a different computer? For instance, to run the program with 2GHz and 2Gb RAM, which is easily available to all the computers in the lab.

Thanks very any guidance,

Chris