Algebraic expression simplification 2(2u+v)/u = 4(v^2-4u^2)/3u^2

• MHB
  • Thread starter Nightspider
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Expression
In summary, the expression 2(2u+v)/u = 4(v^2-4u^2)/3u^2 simplifies to 3u = 2(v-2u) and this is true only if v+2u ≠ 0. The right hand side of the equation can be expressed as 4(v-2u)(v+2u) through the difference of two squares.
Nightspider
Hi All

I am trying to simplify an algebraic expression, I know what the expression should simplify to but I am struggling to simplify it.

The expression is: 2(2u+v)/u = 4(v^2-4u^2)/3u^2

and it is supposed to simplify to: 3u = 2(v-2u)

I have approached this problem from various angles by rearranging the expression and factorization but I can't seem to simplify it. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time posting on a forum so if I have not followed any of the rules of the forum please advise me. In the interest of transparency this is part of an assignment question from a module in a part time Physics degree I am doing as a mature student. For the purposes of this assignment I believe the important thing is to understand the Physics hence the fact that I am asking for some help with the math's. That being said I spent a significant amount of time trying to understand the math's before posting here.

Many Thanks

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Nightspider said:
Hi All

I am trying to simplify an algebraic expression, I know what the expression should simplify to but I am struggling to simplify it.

The expression is: 2(2u+v)/u = 4(v^2-4u^2)/3u^2

and it is supposed to simplify to: 3u = 2(v-2u)