Alegbra of simple harmonic motion

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of rearranging equations for simple harmonic motion and finding time as the subject. The equations of concern include a_x = -Aw^2 sin(wt) and 1/sin(wt) = -Aw^2/a_x. The conversation also mentions the use of ω (omega) and the difficulties of rearranging equations with sin/cos.
Clairepie

Homework Statement

I am wanting to learn how to rearrange equations for simple harmonic motion equations (I am new to LaTeX so gimme a break!) mostly to find time (t) as the subject, but I am not very good at rearranging equations with sin/cos etc and want to get better at it, partly homework partly maths skills for the future, partly I like to learn anyway!

Homework Equations

[tex]
a_{x} = -Aw^2 sin(wt)
[/tex]

[tex]
1/sin(wt) = -Aw^2/a_{x}
[/tex]

As the initial phase = 0 it's not included here. and w= omega

The Attempt at a Solution

I know that
[tex]
1/sin(wt) = -Aw^2/a_{x}
[/tex]

But not sure where to go from there. :confused:

Clairepie

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Clairepie! :smile:

(have an omega: ω :wink:)

sinωt = ax/Aω2

ωt = arcsin( ax/Aω2 )

t = arcsin( ax/Aω2 )/ω :smile:

Thank you and for the omega cheeky little ω!

Yes, I've never noticed that before, ω does look cheeky, doesn't it …

either chipmunky-cheeky or non-specific rear-cheeky! :biggrin:

You mean it looks like a bum?! I can't unsee it now! I just ohpe I don't slip up in an exam "2 pi f = bum"

After 6pm I don't fix typos!

Related to Alegbra of simple harmonic motion

1. What is the definition of simple harmonic motion?

Simple harmonic motion is a type of oscillation in which a system or object moves back and forth in a regular, repeating pattern around a central equilibrium point. It is characterized by a restoring force that is proportional to the displacement from the equilibrium point and acts in the opposite direction.

2. What is the equation for simple harmonic motion?