Aeronautical Engineer to Physicist?

In summary, the individual is seeking advice on pursuing a masters in physics after completing a degree in Aeronautical Engineering. They have a gap year due to sickness and self-taught themselves in physics and math. They have applied to several colleges for their masters but are not confident in receiving a positive response. They are considering completing another bachelors in physics through a distance program. However, their low GPA may make it difficult to get into a competitive program for theoretical physics. Their ultimate career goal is to pursue a PhD and research in this field.
Varshit Jain
Hey guys,
I needed some help in my course advice.
I recently completed my course in Aeronautical Engineering from India. I scored not-that-great with a 67% avg and a gap year cause of sickness.
I always wanted to do a masters in physics and specifically in theoretical physics in topics related to cosmology and string theory. But i completed an engineering degree for family reasons.
Ive mostly self taught myself basic and most bachelors level physics and math. A couple courses at coursera too.
Id applied to a few colleges for my masters but i don't think ill be getting a positive reply at all.
What do you think i should do? How do you think i should go around pursuing the masters?
Im pretty sure ill end up sitting for an year/semester where i plan on doing a good internship in similar subjects and a few courses too.
I was also looking to see if i can complete another bachelors in physics from a distance program and finish it in a year, but so far i haven't found any.
Require some help.
Thank you guys.

Physics news on Phys.org
My two cents from my experience (since no one else has commented):