Advice Regarding Earth Science

In summary, a student is considering pursuing Earth Science, but is facing opposition from their parents who believe job prospects in that field are low. They ask for first-hand experiences and the conversation delves into potential job options and the importance of passion in pursuing a degree. The conversation also touches on the possibility of further education and potential job opportunities in other countries. Overall, the conversation emphasizes that a degree in Earth Science can lead to various job opportunities and that students should follow their passions when choosing a field of study.
coolingwater
Good day to you all, I am in a bit of a knot here. I am currently an undergrad trying to decide on what is best for me. I have really been fascinated by weathers and all that jazz and now trying to pursue Earth Sciece.

But I am in a dilemma due to my parents thinking that Earth Sceince is not the type of field where the job prospects are high. Although i still insists on pursuing Earth Science i would like to ask if anyone here has a first-hand experience in Earth Science, what are the job prospects so i have more reasons to convince my parents. Aiming to be a meteorlogist.

Thx in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't particularly know anything about Earth Science, but since no-one else has replied to you so far...

I have a few friends who completed undergraduate degrees in Earth science. All of them are pursuiing Ph.D's at the moment, at various institutions around the world. The thing it's maybe important to mention to you is that physical science degrees generally prime a student with some very marketable skills. You'll be good at writing reports, analysing data and presenting/interpreting results.