Advice needed about a science project

In summary, the conversation involved a high school student interested in doing a science project on RNA interference and genetic engineering. They discussed the challenges of finding where to start and resources for procedures, as well as potential fields of study in genetic engineering. They also mentioned the possibility of reaching out to universities for guidance and resources.
Garret
Well around mid-August I watched an episode of Nova that was showing a brief explanation of RNA interference and its application. So I decided to do a little research into and came to realize that this is something I would like to do for a science project. This is generally the time of year that I start a science project for science fair. The problem is, I’m in my last year of high school and up to this point we have not studied RNA in detail, so trying to figure out where to start and what to do has become pain. Genetics and the manipulation of it has always fascinated me, I’m somewhat of an advanced-academic-nerd so I’m willing to take up the challenge of learning and understanding the applications of RNAi or genetic engineering. Though I have some questions:

1.) I find the problem I have with every project is finding where to start and upon what angle to take. So where should I start? Should I take out some textbooks?

2.) I’m familiar with the petunia that was put through RNAi and eventually turned white rather than a deep purple when gene copies of key enzymes for flower pigmentation were introduced. What I don’t understand is how I could replicate this in the lab or something possibly simpler? If someone has a source of the procedures could someone inform about how to get them?

3.) What are some other fields of genetic engineering that have potential for study?

Thanks to those that help! And other comments would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Garret

Biology news on Phys.org