Advice for studying at home during the pandemic

In summary, the conversation included discussions on the challenges of studying during the pandemic and seeking advice on maintaining a good study schedule. Some tips included regrouping, setting a routine, limiting exposure to negative media, creating a unique study space, taking care of physical health, and making time for personal interests in the field of study.
ubergewehr273
Hi everyone!

Hope you all are doing well in these tough times. Currently my country is going through one of the toughest second waves of Covid and frankly seeing the news is terrifying to say the least. Being at home, I've noticed that I haven't been able to study for a significant period of time as compared to when I am on campus (which is not possible currently). Any advice on maintaining a good study schedule?

For context, I'm a 3rd year physics undergrad from India.

Thanks and stay safe you guys!

Physics news on Phys.org
I would take the time to regroup. For inspiration read Feynman's Lectures (they're online). In addition choose one small chunk of physics you wonder about and try to examine it in the greatest detail. You can use physics forum for this exercise. If you examine anything in great enough detail you will cover all of physics. The "formal education" will sort itself out.
Ruthlessly and relentlessly seek vaccination for those you love. Good Luck

Likes ubergewehr273
@hutchphd, thanks a lot! My semester is ongoing at the moment and I'm so overwhelmed with all of this. Hopefully, things will get better with time. Stay safe. :-)

With age I have found that getting up at a specified early time and spending a couple of quality hours planning my day and then doing some hard work is very useful discipline. The specified arousal time forces me to go to bed at a reasonable hour also.
In my younger days I don't know that I would have had the self discipline...but you asked for advice...!

Likes ubergewehr273