Advice for beginners in calculus

In summary: Normally distributed, that the errors are independent and that the errors are homoscedastic.All of this is summarized as:In summary, to study calculus properly, you need to brush up on trigonometry and algebra, then study calculus 1, 2, and 3 in that order. After that, you should take linear algebra.
plumberbabu
Hello Guys,
I am a rookie to this forum and need some guidance in studying calculus. I am a medical graduate and master in epidemiology but will be enrolling for doctoral studies in epidemiology. I wish to take more of biostatistical courses and out of my interest I am contemplating to take math courses to build a foundation particularly in Calculus.

From what i gather, I have to brush up Trigonometry and Algebra-----> Then study calculus 1, 2 and 3 in that order and take Linear algebra at the end.
Q 1) Is this a correct way to study? Is there any overlap in Calculus 1 2 or 3.
Q 2) At what stage do I take Introduction to statistics classes.

FYI I have 1 year to study these topics and my employer will pay for 18 credits in 1 year to study ...Kindly guide me as to what is the ideal way so that i do not waste my effort in wrong way

My apologies for such a long post...Any advice will be appreciated

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi pumberbabu! :smile:

As for Q1, your plan seems sound. You can even take linear algebra sooner (after calc II for example).

As for Q2, I'm not sure. Can you list the contents of your statistics course? Normally, a knowledge of Calc I and Calc II would be enough for basic statistics classes. However, you might do some multivariate things in it, so a knowledge of linear algebra could be handy. But it depends on the course in question...

Hey Micromass,