Active Galaxies and the Unified Model

In summary, the conversation discusses an undergraduate student's essay on abnormal galaxies emitting electromagnetic radiation. The student asks for an explanation in layman's terms and sources for more information. They also mention their understanding of the topic so far and ask for tips on writing a scientific essay and citing other people's research. The conversation concludes with a suggestion to consult with the teacher and a link to an article about relativistic jets.
chickensagan
Dear all,

I'm a first year undergraduate student and I've been set an essay on the title of the post. I would be very grateful if someone could explain in layman's terms what these things are, and also if someone could tell me where I can find more information on them, preferably in an easy-to-read format.

Thanks in advance

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Well, what do you already know about them? Have you searched google/wikipedia for them yet?

Sorry I should have said.

I've done some googling and looked at a few websites and books. My understanding so far is that they are galaxies which are emitting abnormal amounts of electromagnetic radiation, which some astrophysicists think is caused by a black hole at the centre of said galaxies consuming the matter surrounding it and releasing the energy in the form of jets.

I don't understand how the jets form however.

Also, I've never written a real scientific essay before so if anyone has tips that'd be great.

For those that know how to write them: how does quoting other people's research work?
Do I need to put in the citation number e.g. blah blah blah [2], after every bit of research that I reference? Or do I just put it in once, even if I refer back to the same reference later on in the essay?

Apologies if what I wrote is a little confusing, I don't know how to word it properly.